Republic Act 6975

On January 2, 1991, the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology was created thru Republic Act 6975 as a line Bureau under the Department of Interior and Local Government. The Jail Bureau is the upgraded version of its forerunner, the Office of Jail Management and Penology of the defunct PC/INP last headed by BRIG GEN Arsenio E. Concepcion.  As mandated by law, the BJMP shall operate under the reorganized Department of the Interior and Local Government.

BJMP  is mandated to direct, supervise and control the administration and operation of all district, city and municipal jails nationwide with pronged tasks of safekeeping and development of inmates.



Republic Act 10879



RA 10879, or the MIMAROPA Act, establishes the South-western Tagalog Region, or Mimaropa, to be composed of Mindoro Oriental, Mindoro Occidental, Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan.
RA 10879 will give MIMAROPA a distinct regional status from its present position as part of Region IV and should boost its economic standing, promote tourism, and propel its agriculture.




Creation of Mimaropa

In order to further accelerate the social and economic development of the provinces and cities comprising Region IV and improve the delivery of public services, Region IV has been divided into Region IVA and Region IVB and the Province of Aurora transferred to Region III by virtue of executive Order No. 103, dated 17 May 2002.
Region IV-B, also known as MIMAROPA, is composed of the provinces of Marinduque, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Palawan and Romblon and the cities of Calapan and Puerto Princesa.
Consequently, Honorable Jose D. Lina Jr., Secretary of the Department of the Interior and Local Government issued DILG Memorandum, dated 31 May 2002 to ensure the compliance of Section 5 of said Executive Order directing the DILG to supervise the division of Region IV into Region IVA and Region IVB.